HS Baseball: The 2017 All Southwestern Baseball Team Named

The Bronco’s Jake Moberg is Selected MVP and Teammate Brandon Ross Named Most Outstanding Pitcher

The 2017 All- Southwestern League has been selected and Vista Murrieta junior Jake Moberg has been named the league’s Most Valuable Player. His teammate, senior Brandon Ross was selected as the Most Outstanding Pitcher.

Moberg was solid for the Broncos in the field and on the mound. The junior hit .365 and scored a league high 23 runs. The junior hit 3 home runs and knocked in 17 more. As a pitcher he was 3-3 with 5 saves. Ross led the league with 8 wins and 64 strikeouts. He threw 59 innings and had a 1.54 Earned Run Average.

The Southwestern League Champion Broncos would also send would also have five more players selected for First Team Honors. All five are seniors. They are catcher Drew Sims, outfielders Joey Hodapp, Mitchell Moralez,

Mason Campbell and infielder Nick Mosiello.

Chaparral was next with three players selected to the First Team. Infielders Christian Bubion and Matt Happ made the team as well as Puma Ace Jesse Morales. All three are seniors.

Murrieta Valley was tied for second in the Southwestern League with Chaparral with an 8-7 record. They send two players to the First Team. Senior infielder Cesar Cuevas and sophomore Caiden Matheny will represent he Nighthawks.

The Wolfpack and Golden Bears would place one player each on the All-League First Team Roster. Great Oak sends senior pitcher Carson Seymour and Temecula Valley is represented by junior outfielder Chris Burke.

Murrieta Mesa’s Ian Byers led the Southwestern league with 4 home runs. The senior also had the best Slugging percentage in the league. He made the Second Team.

Most Valuable Player

Jake Moberg 11 IF, P Vista Murrieta

Most Outstanding Pitcher

Brandon Ross 12 P Vista Murrieta

1st Team

Drew Sims 12 C Vista Murrieta

Joey Hodapp 12 OF Vista Murrieta

Nick Mosiello 12 IF Vista Murrieta

Mitchell Moralez 12 OF Vista Murrieta

Mason Campbell 12 OF Vista Murrieta

Matt Happ 12 IF, P Chaparral

Jesse Morales 12 P Chaparral

Christian Bubion 12 IF Chaparral

Cesar Cuevas 12 IF Murrieta Valley

Caiden Matheny 10 IF Murrieta Valley

Carson Seymour 12 P Great Oak

Chris Burke 11 OF Temecula Valley

2nd Team

Andrew Mosiello 10 P Vista Murrieta

Hayden Johns 10 P Chaparral

David Blanset 12 IF Chaparral

Blake Timm 12 P Murrieta Valley

Dylan Morace 11 DH Murrieta Valley

Worth Planer 12 IF Great Oak

Trent Topping 12 P Great Oak

Blayne Jones 12 DH Great Oak

Austin Baltierra 12 P Temecula Valley

Ethan Clough 11 OF, P Temecula Valley

Ian Byers 12 IF Murrieta Mesa

Tony Carreon 11 P Murrieta Mesa

Photos By Scott Padgett, & Mike Clary