HS Cross Country: The CIF Southern Section Finals are in Riverside this Saturday


Murrieta Valley Sends it’s Girls Team to the Finals for the First time in 8 Years

The CIF Southern Section Cross Country finals are tasking place this Saturday at the Riverside City Cross Country Course located at 1011 Orange Street. The Southwestern league will be sending runners from Great Oak, Chaparral, Vista Murrieta and Murrieta Valley to the meet.

Murrieta Valley will be sending it’s Girl’s Team to the CIF Finals for the first time in 8-years. “It’s exciting” said Nighthawk Coach Jose Villegas.”It’s a real shot in the arm for our program to be back in the CIF finals. I’m really proud of the girls”.

The Nighthawks will be sending freshman Morgan Hist, sophomores Caitlin Billman, Kate Farren, Paige Siegel, Citlalli Valdez Lopez and juniors Anna Lockwood, Arabella, Reece, Keegan Turner, Keegan and Lynn Varner to run Saturday.

Great Oak’s Boys and Girls Team will both be competing. Coach Doug Soles’ Wolfpack teams are ranked No. 1 in the state. His Girls team is currently ranked fourth in the nation and the Boys are number 5.

The Girls team consists of seniiors Kiyena Beatty, Evelyn Mandel, Michelle Mcintosh, Nicole Rice, Sydney Velus, Sarah Workman, junior Sandra Pflughoft, sophomore Fatima Cortes, and freshmen Arianna Griffiths and Devin Ito.

Seniors Justin Eipp, Solomon Fountain, Anthony Ruiz, juniors Carlos Carvajal, Gavi Korby, Jacob Korgan, sophomores Ryan Shields, Tyler Tickner, frehmen Gabriel Abbes and Chris Verdigo will be running for the Boys.

Vista Murieta also sends both it’s Boys and Girls Teams to the Finals.

Seniors Julie Diaz, Amelia Strahan, junior Nadine Dubon, Annabelle Wener, sophomores Peyton Candaele, Paige Haynes, Gabrielle Hubarth, Ariel Van Riper, freshmen Makayla Fick and Brianna Potter make up the Girls team.

The Boys team is made up of seniors Jonah Brown, Dylan Klemp, Donovan Miller, Jaden Shawver, juniors Edgard Villa, Jared Angle, Justin Flores, Tyler Seward, sophomores Oticio Herrera, and Anthony Parisi.

The Chaparral Boys are first-ever trip to a CIF SS Division 1 final. The Pumas consist of seniors Josh Frey, Zaki Payne, Chris Perez, Ryan Reyes, Austin Tsosie, juniors Antonio Carbajal, Marod Jackson, Vincet Martinez, sophomores Nick Srajer and Sklar Journey.

Last but not least, Chaparral senior Zoe Jarvis will represent the Puma Girls.

Photo by Charles McKee