HS Girls Water Polo: The 2018 All Southwestern League Girls Water Polo Team Selected

Murrieta Valley’s Maryn Dempsey Named League Most Valuable Player

The 2017/2018 All Southwestern League Girls Water Polo Team has been selected. Murrieta Valley sophomore Maryn Dempsey was named the league’s Most Valuable Player. Dempsey helped guide the Nighthawks to their 14th consecutive Southwestern league title this year.

Maryn Dempsey

“Maryn is a dynamic attacker that creates a lot of scoring opportunities for herself and teammates” said Murrieta Valley Coach Bryan Lynton. “She plays the game with a controlled aggressiveness that will elevate her to high levels of play in the future. She did a great job of taking control of games and leading the team in the pool with her passion and energy for the sport.”

Along with Dempsey, three Nighthawks were selected to the All Southwestern League Girls Water Polo First Team. Senior Taylor Hensley and freshmen Sophia Solie and Tyanna Schneider made the team. Another freshman, Avery Wood was selected for second team honors.

Murrieta Mesa Freshman Ashley Murray and Vista Murrierta junior Hannah Steffans also made the First Team. Seniors Emory Wallwork and Marina Guardado from Temecula Valley were also selected to the First team along with junior Pati Alvarado and senior Jazmin Uhler from Chaparral.

Along with Wood, junior Tessa McCart from Murrieta Mesa, senior Abbey Hodges form Vista Murrieta and Temecula Valley senior Lauren Preble were also chosen for Second Team Honors.

Three Pumas were also selected to the Second Team. They were juniors Kylie Ankeny, Amity Schlachter and senior Mahlia Medina. Junior Sophia Edsall from Great Oak and sophomore Emma Johns also made the team.

Most Valuable Player

Maryn Dempsey MVHS 10


First Team All SWL

Taylor Hensley MVHS 12

Sophia Solie MVHS 9

Tyanna Schneider MVHS 9

Ashley Murray MMHS 9

Hannah Steffans VMHS 11

Emory Wallwork TVHS 12

Marina Guardado TVHS 12

Pati Alvarado CHS 11

Jazmin Uhler CHS 12


Second Team All SWL

Avery Wood MVHS 9

Tessa McCart MMHS 11

Abbey Hodges VMHS 12

Lauren Preble TVHS 12

Kylie Ankeny CHS 11

Amity Schlachter CHS 11

Mahlia Medina CHS 12

Sophia Edsall GOHS 11

Emma Johns GOHS 10


Photos by Mike Clary

[slideshow_deploy id=’1574