HS Wresting: Temecula Valley Wins it’s 30th Consecutive League Championship…A New State Record

Temecula Valley Beats Chaparral 61-12 to Win the Southwestern League Title

Temecula Valley crushed Chaparral 61-12 in the final dual match of the Southwestern League Season and wrapped up the program’s 30th consecutive league championship. Temecula Valley holds the State Record, and seems to add to it every year. It’s been since 1988 that the Golden Bears have not won the title.

Over the past 30 years, Temecula Valley has become one of the Inland Empire’s Wrestling dynasties. The Golden Bears have won 33 CIF Southern Section titles, 70 individual section championships, 17 Masters meet champions and five state champions.

The Golden Bears are lead by their Co-Coaches Arnold Alpert and Lyndon Campbell. The two men have created a wrestling dynasty that may never be equaled.

Thirty years. Wow! That’s pretty much half of my lifetime and nearly twice the lifetime of most of our wrestlers here,” said Golden Bears coach Arnold Alpert. “I just want to thank everyone who’s been part of that success over the years.”

Much of the success of the program is done by people behind the scenes,” said Lyndon Campbell. “It’s the sacrifices made by so many that produce results on the mat.”

Photos by Annette Alpert