Murrieta Mesa’s Aaron Ballou Named National High School Boys’ Track and Field Coach of the Year

Ballou Led the Rams to its First Ever CIF State Team Championship this Year

Murrieta Mesa’s Aaron Ballou has been named the 2018 National High School Boys’ Track and Field Coach of the Year. After finishing third in the Southwesten league finals, they went on to win the CIF Southern Section Division 2 team title and two weeks later. Then, Ballou took Murrieta Mesa to the State Championships and won it all.

Ballou has been the Rams Track and Field coach since the school opened in 2009. He built the program from the ground up through some difficult years.

His teams improved each year and this season they were the State Champs. Murrieta Mesa won the team title with 35 points. They were led by the 1,600 relay team that won the gold with the best time in the nation this season.

Ballou is the first coach from California to win the NHSCA National Boys’ Track and Field Coach of the Year Award. He also coaches Murrieta Mesa’s cross country program

We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Ballou as National Boys’ Track and Field Coach of the Year,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Coach Ballou’s commitment to excellence for his student-athletes in sports and in the classroom makes him an great choice for this honor.”

Past NHSCA National Boys’ Track and Field Coaches of the Year

2017 – Juris Green – The Woodlands HS, Texas

2016 – Aaron Berndt – Wayzata HS, Minnesota

2015 – John Jones – Spring Valley HS, South Carolina

2014 – Alex Armeteros – St. Thomas Aquinas HS, Florida

2013 – Robert Steele – North Rowan HS, North Carolina

2012 – Woody Barnett – Pearl HS, Mississippi

2011 – Robbie Robinson – Mountain View HS, Arizona

2010 – Pete Boudreaux – Catholic HS, Louisiana

2009 – Dennis McNulty – Warren Central HS, Indiana

2008 – Warren Mitchell – Limon HS, Colorado

2007 – Joe Howell – Lisbon HS, North Dakota

2006 – Pat Galle – UMS Wright, Alabama

2005 – Don Carnahan – Russellville HS, Alabama

2004 – Chad Walker – Wheeler HS, Georgia

2003 – Rob Johnson – Clare HS, Michigan

2002 – Lindy Remigino – Hartford HS, Connecticut

2001 – Roger Mathiesen – Kearney HS, Nebraska

2000 – Chuck Koeppen – Carmel HS, Indiana